Note: This list is a starting point and not exhaustive of every local Black leader in the South Sound

- Justice G. Helen Whitener, First Black Woman on Washington Supreme Court, appointed in 2020
- Jamila Thomas, Chief of Staff to Governor Jay Inslee, was <u>appointed in 2020</u>
- John Batiste, Chief of the Washington State Patrol, appointed in 2005
- Xavier T. Brunson, I-Corps Commanding General, appointed in 2021
- T'wina Nobles, First Black Washington State Senator in 10 years 28<sup>th</sup> LD, elected in 2020
- Melanie Morgan, Washington State Representative 29<sup>th</sup> LD, elected in 2019
- April Sims, First Black Woman President for Washington State Labor Council (WSLC), <u>elected in</u> 2022
- Cherika Carter, Secretary-Treasurer for WSLC, elected in 2022
- Judge TaTeasha Davis, Pierce County Superior Court Judge, <u>appointed in 2022</u>
- Judge Sabrina Ahrens, Pierce County Superior Court Judge, appointed in 2019
- Judge Joseph Evans, Pierce County Superior Court Judge, <u>appointed in 2021</u>
- Judge Clarence Henderson, Pierce County Superior Court Judge, appointed in 2020
- Judge Dwayne Christopher, Pierce County District Court, appointed in 2022
- Judge Karl Williams, Pierce County District Court, appointed in 2018
- Victoria Woodards, Mayor of Tacoma, <u>elected in 2018</u>
- Keith Blocker, Tacoma City Council (Position 3), elected in 2015
- Kiara Daniels, Tacoma City Council (At-Large, Position 6), elected in 2021
- Avery Moore, Second Black Tacoma Police Chief, appointed in 2021
- Toryono Green, Tacoma Fire Chief, appointed in 2019
- Aaron Pointer, Metro Parks Comissioner, since 2000
- Carla Santorno, Former Tacoma School District Superintendent, elected in 2012
- Korey Strozier, Tacoma Public Schools Board of Directors (Vice President, Position 3), appointed in 2020
- Chelsea McElroy, Tacoma Public Schools Board of Directors (Position 4), elected in 2021
- Bernadette Ray, Principal of Silas High School, began in 2018
- Ron Banner, Clover Park School District Superintendent, since 2019
- Nikki Bufford, Fircrest City Council (Position 6), elected in 2021
- Kent Keel, University Place City Council (Position 2), elected in 2021
- Mary Moss, Lakewood Deputy Mayor, <u>elected in 2010</u>
- Patrick Smith, Lakewood Police Chief, appointed in 2023
- Dee-Dee Gethers, Fife City Council (Deputy Mayor, Position 2), appointed in 2011
- Maame Bassaw, DuPont City Council (Position 1), elected in 2021
- Judge Sharonda Amamilo, First Black Judge for Thurston County Superior Court, <u>appointed in</u> 2020
- Derek Sanders, First Black Thurston County Sheriff, elected in 2023
- Malcolm Miller, Lacey Deputy Mayor, elected in 2020
- Dontae Payne, First Black Man on Olympia City Council (Position 6), elected in 2021
- Angela Jefferson, Tumwater City Council (Position 2), elected in 2021
- Peter Agabi, Tumwater City Council (Position 6), elected in 2022
- Dr. Sheila Edwards Lange, Chancellor of the University of Washington Tacoma, <u>appointed in</u> 2021
- Dr. Isiaah Crawford, First Black President of the University of Puget Sound, appointed in 2016
- Dr. Ivan Harrell, President of Tacoma Community College, appointed in 2018
- Tara Lisa Perry, CEO National Court Appointed Special Advocate, elected in 2013
- Dona Ponepinto, President and CEO of United Way of Pierce County, joined in 2014